Republican Lisa Murkowski, Democrat Mary Peltola Beat Trump-Backed Candidates in Alaska

Alaska Democratic Rep. Mary Peltola and Republican Sen. Lisa Murkowski won re-election on Wednesday, defeating two Trump-backed opponents, The Washington Post reports.

Peltola, who earlier this year defeated former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin in the state’s first ranked-choice-voting special election to replace the late Rep. Don Young, once again defeated Palin to win a full term in Congress after all ballots were tabulated.

Peltola, the first Alaska Native to win a full term in Congress, told reporters that voters had given her a “two-year contract.”

“And I will be happy to work for Alaskans again, as long as they’ll have me,” she said, adding that her win shows that voters in the state “wholeheartedly embrace nonpartisanship and working together.”


Murkowski, one of Trump’s top targets after voting to convict him during his second impeachment trial, defeated Trump-backed opponent Kelly Tshibaka, a former state and federal official.

Murkowski won 53-46 and Peltola won 55-45, dealing yet another blow to the Trump slate in the midterms.

The Republican and Democratic incumbents made the unusual choice to endorse each other ahead of the election.

“I am honored that Alaskans — of all regions, backgrounds and party affiliations — have once again granted me their confidence to continue working with them and on their behalf in the U.S. Senate,” Murkowski said in a statement Wednesday night. “I look forward to continuing the important work ahead of us.”

Dunleavy reelected:

Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy, a Republican, was also re-elected after passing the 50% mark as votes were tabulated.

Dunleavy is the first Alaska governor reelected since 1998.

Dunleavy faced a crowded field that included former independent Gov. Bill Walker, Democrat Les Gara, and Republican Charlie Pierce.

Gara finished in a distant second place with 24%.


Related News