5 Republicans Voted Against House Bill Affirming Peaceful Transfer of Power After Election

The House of Representatives overwhelmingly voted in favor of a resolution in support of a peaceful transfer of power if President Donald Trump loses to Joe Biden, but five Republicans opposed the bill, Axios reports.

The House voted 397-5 on a resolution that unanimously passed the Senate last week affirming Congress’ bipartisan support for a peaceful transfer of power if the Democratic nominee wins.

Republican Reps. Matt Gaetz, Louis Gohmert, Steve King, Thomas Massie, and Clay Higgins all voted against the bipartisan bill.

Gaetz attacks Democrats:

"This resolution is a way for Democrats to attack the president and disguise the fact that they will refuse to accept the election results unless they win," Gaetz said after the vote.

"Professional loser Hillary Clinton has told Joe Biden that he should not concede, and I'm quoting, 'under any circumstances,’” he added.

Neither resolution specifically mentioned Trump, though he has repeatedly suggested that he would not accept the results of the election.

Democrats cite congressional responsibility:

California Democrat Eric Swalwell, who authored the House resolution, said the vote was an opportunity for lawmakers to reaffirm their support for a democratic system.

“As the United States of America, the federal government has always had a peaceful transition of power. And it is a collective responsibility of this body to ensure that continues,” he said during a speech on the House floor.

“Everyone in America knows that this is what makes us American. Everyone, that is, except President Trump,” he added.


Related News